06
Jul
10

新的游泳裤 new swim trunks

So this weekend I’m headed to Zhoushan on the coast of China  to hang out at the beaches. This weekend will (hopefully) be  a good break from all the studying I’m doing (and yes I am studying!). However, when packing for China I really didn’t expect to be doing much swimming or having much quality beach time so I packed a really crappy pair of swim trunks. They are oversized and have been prone to spontaneously falling off. I knew I needed a better pair to go to the beach with so I could hang out with my friends in style.

It just so happened that my roommate, Wang Su, also wanted a pair of trunks too. So we started looking online for some trunks as the selection online is better (and cheaper) than nearby stores. So after quickly looking through probably hundreds of pairs on trunks on a couple of different sites I finally settled on this pair:

I liked the color and the white stripe thingy was kind of cool so I decided to buy them. The are “Abrocrombie and Fitch” shorts and the price was right (around 8 bucks) so I decided to buy them. We ordered them on saturday or sunday and they arrived this afternoon and I was really satisfied with the purchase.

That being said, there is no way these are real “Abercrombie and Fitch” shorts. 假的东西 (Fake goods aka knockoffs) are everywhere in China and are always pretty cheap. I have already seen countless people wearing really expensive brands out and about and it is really easy to get your hands on any fake brand (I have seen so many stores selling Ray-Bans it’s out of control) . However, all the Chinese knock-offs I have encountered thus far have been really high quality. I figured going into it that buying 8 dollar “Abercrombie and Fitch” shorts in China, I was definitely going to be getting something fake.

But I really wouldn’t know either way if it wasn’t for the price tag on the shorts:

Problem number #1: these are not woman’s shorts. They were clearly in men’s section of the webpage surrounded by countless other men’s swim trunks. Problem #2: they originally cost $178 dollars. I don’t if ANYWHERE in America is selling swim trunks for almost 200 dollars. Yeah, these are definitely  knockoffs.

Do I care? No. I’ve got 2 more days of classes and a test and them I’m headed to the coast with a bunch of friends. Real Abercrombie and Fitch shorts or not, I’m still going to have an awesome time. I just thought this was another funny thing that could only happen in China that made me chuckle a bit. And once again, I’d like to reiterate, these are NOT women’s swim trunks!

1 Response to “新的游泳裤 new swim trunks”


  1. 1 Amber Dostie
    July 12, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    OMG this is so funny!!! I love the picture. I didn’t even realize it said Women’s on it until you said so in your blog!!!


Leave a Reply

